National Certificate: Health, Safety and Environment

Health and Welfare LEARNERSHIPS

National Certificate: Occupational Health, Safety and Environment

  • Qualification Title: National Certificate: Occupational Health, Safety and Environment
  • SAQA Qualification ID: 74290
  • Minimum Credits: 123
  • NQF Level: 2
This Qualification is to equip learners working in any type of workplace with a broad understanding and knowledge of Occupational Health, Safety and Environmental (HSE) concepts and practices with sufficient detail to enable them to function in a safe and healthy way and to deal with health and safety problems and issues. It will also contribute to the further development of learners within this environment by providing articulation, recognition and mobility within this dynamic and changing environment.
This qualification is run over 12 months.
  • Mathematical Literacy at NQF Level 1
  • Communication at NQF Level 1
  • Computer Literacy at NQF Level 1
This qualification is made up of fundamental, core and elective unit standards and a minimum of 120 credits is required to complete the qualification:
  • Core unit standards totalling 64 credits are compulsory.
  • Fundamental unit standards totalling 36 credits are compulsory
  • Elective unit standards totalling 20 credits are compulsory
  • Use verbal and written practices to communicate in the workplace and apply mathematical processes to solve everyday numerical problems
  • Explain the requirements of current legislation impacting on Health, Safety and environmental issues in the workplace
  • Recognise, assess and report health and safety hazards and situations in the workplace
  • Administer various health and safety functions, planning, policy and behaviours in the workplace
  • Cluster 1 - Communication Skills ( 20 credits)
  • Cluster 2 - Mathematical Processes ( 16 credits)
  • Cluster 3 - Health and Safety Hazards ( 14 credits)
  • Cluster 4 - Health and Safety Management ( 15 credits)
  • Cluster 5 - Health and Safety Monitoring and Evaluation ( 12 credits)
  • Cluster 6 - Primary Health Care ( 14 credits)
  • Cluster 7 - Workplace Safety Management ( 21 credits)
  • Cluster 8 - Using Computer Application to Manage Workplace Safety ( 11 credits)
Download the Qualification Outline

Like us on social media

Quick Message